D-8 to establish a seedbank in Turkey

Today’s Zaman - The members of the Developing Eight (D-8) agreed to establish a seedbank in Turkey, to take steps to ensure food security and to build new fertilizer production facilities, during their latest ministerial-level meeting. Assessing the decisions made at the D-8 Agriculture Ministers Conference in Malaysia's capital of Kuala Lumpur on February 25-27, Mehmet Mehdi Eker, the Turkish Minister of Agriculture and Rural Affairs, said that establishing the seedbank will maximize the joint interests of D-8 member countries. In a written statement on Monday, Minister Eker underlined that Iran will also actively contribute to the establishment of the bank. The D-8 is a group of developing countries that formed an economic development alliance in 1997, consisting of Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.