Government investments to focus on eastern cities

Referans - With internal migration from east to west posing a major problem for the country, the government says it will focus on investments in eastern Türkiye between 2010 and 2012 in the hope of stemming the flow of people. The government says it will continue to focus on the socio-economic development of “surrounding cities” , with a main focus on turning the 12 key migration cities of Diyarbakir, Elazig, Erzurum, Gaziantep, Kayseri, Konya, Malatya, Samsun, Sivas, Sanliurfa, Trabzon and Van into attractive centers of their own. Under the project, the social and physical infrastructures of these 12 cities will be improved within the next three years. The State Planning Organization (DPT) has already sent the 2010-2012 Investment Program Preparation Guide to public enterprises. According to the guide, the general priority of public investments must be compatible with infrastructure plans while “meeting social needs” and “supporting productive activities” . Noting existing resource problems, the guide suggests that collaboration between the public and private sectors must be strengthened, adding that public investment proposals and decisions must be reviewed in the light of regional and sectoral analysis. Companies that develop investment plans focusing on the reconstruction of the 12 cities will be given priority by the government in receiving funds and will be given a specific time period in which to complete their projects.